The English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate [EBacc] was introduced as a performance measure for schools in England in the 2010 performance tables. The measure recognises where students have achieved a grade 4 / 5 or better at GCSE in English, Mathematics, History or Geography, two sciences [including Computer Science] and a modern or ancient language. The EBacc includes academic subjects highly valued by universities, but it is not currently required for entry to any university. It is, however, made up of subjects which are considered essential to many degrees and open up lots of doors.

Our Key Stage 4 curriculum is structured to allow all students access to the suite of subjects within the English Baccalaureate and we are committed to increasing our proportion of students accessing this, in line with Government ambition.

Cookie Alert

We use cookies on this site to improve your user experience.


Skip to content